Madden keeps his enthusiasm

By Scott D. Pierce
Deseret Morning News

 John Madden will be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, he’s coached the Raiders to a Super Bowl title and he’s had hugely successful runs as a sportscaster at three network (CBS, Fox and ABC).

And yet, at the age of 70, he’s moving to a new network as NBC launches “Sunday Night Football” with, appropriately enough, the preseason Hall of Fame game between, appropriately enough, Oakland and Philadelphia (Sunday, 6 p.m., Ch. 5).
Why is he still at it?
“Because it’s my life and I love it,” Madden told TV critics in an appearance to promote the new franchise. And it doesn’t get old for him — he said “something just shot through my body” when the NBC publicist mentioned his upcoming induction into the Hall of Fame.
“And here you have excitement of a new season and on a new network and a new group and everything aligns and it’s just such a great experience.”
There are those (including yours truly) who think that, perhaps, Madden has lost a step or two over the years in the announcing booth. That he has, at times, become almost a parody of himself.
But he’s still having fun and networks are still willing to pay him millions of dollars, so why not?
“It’s something I’ve been in all my life,” Madden said. “I went from a player to a coach to a broadcaster — never worked a day in my life and just had fun. I mean, I’ve been in recess all my life.”
Whatever criticisms anybody (including me) has of him, it’s obvious Madden is still having fun. And football is supposed to be fun.
“I’ll tell you, life doesn’t get any better than this. And . . . we’re talking about our starts and the games we’re going to have and everything,” Madden said. “I mean, it’s just something that gives me chills when I think about it and talk about it.”
There are plenty of people who have to go to jobs they don’t like every day. Who can criticize Madden for continuing to work at a job he loves?
Especially when you’re making millions of dollars a year to do it. And that’s before the royalties for the video games start rolling in.

 

~ by Sactown Raider Boosters on August 4, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
